Social Running vs. Solo Running

As with many runners, I run alone most of the time. I think of running as a solo endeavor except on race day and the occasional group run. I always thing of the old Iron Maiden song, “The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner”. Maybe not the full lyrics but at least the title. I like going to races especially where there is a group of friends but for training I prefer to run alone. Just me, my GPS watch and my iPod. I’ve run with a running club but it started to feel like a chore to make it on-time and run with the group. I’m thinking to run with them occasionally but not on a weekly basis and just focus on my solo training. This might be just my personality. I really enjoyed doing day/multi-day relays with groups due to the social part but doing this on a regular basis is just too much for me.

I have a 5k race in a week where many of my running club (well part time running club) and several co-workers will be there. It should be a good time as the rare occurrence but then it will be back to solo training.

Categories: Running | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

