Out of Date

I haven’t been paying any attention to my blog(s) at all for the past 6 months or so. Most likely because I don’t put remember to write, don’t think I have enough to say, constantly rethink to the point of nothing getting out, not convinced I have enough to write a lengthy blog post and not willing to just write a short entry. I’ve tried to use both Tumblr and WordPress so far and I think I’m going to stick with Tumblr. I think the WordPress format is more flexible and can accommodate more complex content but Tumblr has the more social aspect and seems less formal. This less formal aspect is what keeps drawing me back. I’m not going to pretend to be a writer, I’ve never been much of one but I continue to get this nagging feeling to document at least some part of my life. Still not sure why but I’m going to make a concerted effort again.

Since my last update I completed my first Marathon in Detroit, Runkeeper Data. The data did not import correctly from my Garmin watch, not sure why. I was on my target pace of 10:00 min/mile for the first half of the race. Analyzing the data now, I see that I started to fade at about mile 12. The cramps in the calves started around mile 14 or 15. I have had cramping problems around the 15 mile mark in 2011 which made me decide not to run the marathon and then I tore the meniscus in my left knee just before the marathon would have run so I guess it was lucky I didn’t sign up. During the 2012 training, I was able to make runs of 17, 19, and 22 without cramps in warmer and more humid weather than the Detroit Free Press marathon. I went into the run with what I felt was a conservative pace given my training but the wheels still feel off.

Even with my disappointment in my race, I finished. I am in the small percentage of people that have finished a marathon. In addition to just finishing, I surprised myself with my mental toughness just to complete with the cramps. There were several point especially on Belle Isle where I just wanted to say the hell with it and go home. I didn’t and I survived. I’m not sure I’ll put myself through that level of training and the grueling race again. I’m planning to run several 5k, trying to get my pace back, and a half marathon, https://dxa2.com/index.php, which I have run before and it is a great and challenging run. I have to convince my self that every new race doesn’t have to be a PR. Not only does this race give me a goal to reach for but it is a great race. I love running through the small town of Dexter, MI and then through the rural are, the big hill in the middle of the run and then finish line hill that takes it out you while entering the City of Ann Arbor, MI. The food at the right after the finish line is another huge plus to the run.

Well that is enough blabbering for this post. 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

