Running in Florida

We went to Florida for a Gymnastics meet this past weekend. The weather in Orlando was much better than Michigan but cold for Orlando. Even with the cooler temperatures for the area, it was perfect running weather, in the 40’s and 50’s. I ran 3 days in a row with a 5 miler on the last day. Each run was at less than 9 min/mile pace, which is very satisfying. It was so nice to just be able to throw on a shirt and shorts and go running. Having to get all bundled up and run in the below freezing temperatures is getting old. It looks like the weather is breaking in Michigan, so I have to start increasing the mileage to get ready for my half marathon. In addition, the group I ran the GLR with is looking at several runs over the next few months that I might join. The first is a 5k/10k/25k run in Grand Rapids. Not sure which distance the group is thinking, but the 25k might be a difficult thing to do at that time. The 25k just 3 weeks before the half marathon might not be a good idea, I think the 10k fits the training better but we’ll see what the rest of the group is doing. I had to skip the North Country Trail Relay last year, due to my knee surgery and it looks like I’ll have to miss it this year as well due to my daughter’s graduation party.

68/725

Categories: Running | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

