Shamrocks and Shenanigans – Ann Arbor, MI

I ran the 5k at Shamrocks & Shenanigans on Sunday morning. It was fairly warm, 45F,  for an early March run all things considered. I didn’t have to wear the multiple layers or the hat and gloves. The hands were a little chilly at the start but they warmed and felt good after about 1/2 mile. We got a shirt and a beer mug which beats the post race medal.

2013-03-10 21.05.262013-03-11 17.45.40

The local Irish pub was offering a post race beer but it just seems a little wrong to have a bear after only a 5k and at 10:00 in the morning. I stuck with the water and bagel.

I was asked questions about the race by someone in the parking lot. Not sure if she was a reporter for a local newspaper or a blog and not sure if my comments will be used, it was very unexpected and I was kind of stunned to be asked questions. I’m not a famous runner or person, just some who signed up for the race and was on his way home. She asked what I liked about the race and like an idiot I said, it was warm. and didn’t rain. I did add that I liked the downtown area and it was a good hilly course, but I’m sure she thought I was a moron. All in all it was a good run, a nice way to start a Sunday morning. The more I go down there, the more I like downtown Ann Arbor area.

2013-03-10 09.16.14

Waiting for the Shamrocks and Shenanigans 5k to start, you can see the University of Michigan Stadium in the distance. We would run right up to the entrance and back.

Categories: Running | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

