MRI Results

I got the results from MRI this past week and found out that I another tear in my meniscus. I need to have another surgery in a month, same as last year. The doctor says the cause is likely osteo-arthritis. The plan is to repair the tear and smooth things out to minimize the chances of a another occurrence. The doctor said at some point in the future, hopefully not for many years, that he will have to tell me to stop running. He recommended developing other cross training activities so that when I can’t run anymore, I will still have something to keep busy.

At least this time I have been able to keep running and riding the bike to keep the muscle strength up. Last time I basically had 5 months of almost no activity prior to surgery then the recovery time. This time I hope the recovery is quicker although I don’t really have plans to run another marathon but likely a half-marathon, maybe the Dexter Ann-Arbor again just to see if I can improve on last time.

I have a 5k on October 12 with my daughter at her college for parents weekend and then my surgery on October 16.

 

Categories: Running | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

