Weekend 5k Race

Went to Western Michigan University for the Campus Classic 5k and to spend homecoming weekend with my daughter. It was great seeing her again after about a month she was home the last time. We had a good evening out on Friday with a little shopping after dinner, college students always need things and never have any money.  We met our daughter early Saturday morning on the campus.

2013-10-13 08.59.19 (Here we are at the Bronco statue near the start/finish line).

My daughter and I decided to go out at around 8:00 min/mile pace and see how it goes. The Western Michigan University campus is fairly hilly so this was not going to be an easy run.

Campus Classic 5k Altitude.

That initial uphill was tough and the next major hill was even tougher. I lost my daughter in the crowd early, she needs more practice in fighting through the throng of runners. Although I have an advantage of being bigger than her and I can cut my own path most of the time. I pushed it hard through the hills, a little slow during the 2nd mile, and hovered around the 8min/mile for the last mile. My daughter passed me at the 3 mile mark to finish and i did my best to catch her but she finished 7 seconds ahead of me. I finished at 25:42 officially which was about what I had been running for a 3 mile run, so I finished about a minute faster than my training pace.

After the race we all got cleaned up then went to the open house the fine arts college, my daughter is in that program in the photography program, and then went to a school sponsored homecoming tailgate for some lunch. We went to the football game and sat in the student section which was a bit crazy. Unfortunately Western’s team is in a rebuilding year and is now 0-7 on the year. Not a good year. Then we took her out for some more shopping and then out for her birthday dinner a few days early. On Sunday morning we took her out for a late breakfast and then we headed home.

All in all it was a great weekend, so nice to see our daughter again. Still trying to get used to her not being at home, but we are so proud of her. I hope to get a couple of more runs in before surgery on Wednesday.

Categories: Running | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

